IIMS Silver Jubilee Awards

Following a search lasting six months to discover and recognise excellence in marine surveying, the IIMS Silver Jubilee Awards for Excellence were announced on 31 August 2016 at Regent’s University in central London as part of the Institute’s 25th anniversary celebrations.

Presentations of the crystal trophies were made by Sir Alan Massey during a splendid luncheon and ceremony. Sir Alan, who is Chief Executive Officer of the UK Maritime & Coastguard Agency, also addressed around 100 delegates at the end of the ceremony when he gave a short key note speech.

The Awards Categories

Outstanding Contribution to the Yacht & Small Craft Marine Surveying Industry Award

Joint Winners: Paul Homer and Ian Nicolson
Finalists: Fraser Noble and John Excell – both Highly Commended by the judges
Paul Homer said, “I am honoured to receive this award. My aim has always been to raise the standards of small craft surveyors for the future and I hope to continue to do so.”
Ian Nicolson said, “Very many thanks for my Award which my son Richard collected on my behalf in London. It’s a great honour and so rare. Surveyors seldom get recognised.”
Kindly sponsored by: Galleon Marine Insurance Agency

Marine Surveying Project of the Year Award (Yacht & Small Craft)

Winner: Mike Andrews
Finalist: Lee Warltier
Mike Andrews said, “I am really surprised to have won this award due to the incredible competition. Thank you.”

Outstanding Contribution to the Commercial Shipping Marine Surveying Industry Award

Winner: Capt Barry Thompson
Finalists: Capt Khalil Khan and Capt Syed Khalid Humail – both Highly Commended by the judges
Capt Barry Thompson said, “The Institute and the surveying profession are close to my heart. Thank you very much for the recognition. I am most grateful and feel very humble.”
Kindly sponsored by: Henderson International Asia Pacific Group

Marine Surveying Project of the Year Award (Commercial Shipping)

Winner: Capt Andrew Korek
Finalists: Capt Zarir Irani and Peter Broad
Capt Andrew (Drew) Korek said, “Although totally unexpected, I am truly honoured to receive this prestigious award.”
Kindly sponsored by: A.R.Brink & Associates

Most Effective Use of Social Media Award

Winner: Nic Fieldhouse
Finalists: Jacek Goszczynski and Steve Truss
Nic Fieldhouse said, “Thank you very much to the people who nominated me and all the other people who are prepared to give social media a go and to remember to give something before you receive it.”

Rising Star Award

Winner: Lee Warltier
Finalists: Capt Delzin Irani and Paul Lockhart
Lee Warltier said, “I am totally surprised by this nomination and award. I did not expect to receive it. Bring on the future!”
Kindly sponsored by: Sterling Global Marine Ltd

Customer Focus Award

Winner: Chris Moody
Finalists: Uday Moorthi and Capt Zarir Irani
Chris Moody said, “This is a very proud and humble moment. I am truly honoured to receive this prestigious award. This will keep me focussed on the goal after a difficult year.”

Best Web Site Award

Winner: Chris Olsen
Finalists: Andrea Carlevaris and Gary Miller
Chris Olsen said, “Very big thanks for the award. Totally surprising.”

Innovation Award

Joint Winners: Sky-Futures Ltd and Ocean Signal Ltd
MRS Training & Rescue – Highly Commended by the judges
James Harrison, Co-Founder of Sky-Futures said, “We are thrilled to receive this award. It is a token of appreciation for the hard work of the whole team.”
Kindly sponsored by: Matrix Insurance Services Ltd in partnership with Chaucer Syndicates Ltd

The Judging Panel

Chairman: Mike Schwarz, IIMS Chief Executive Officer
Bridget Hogan: Director of Publishing & Marketing, Nautical Institute
Niamh Cullen: Director, Hoot Marketing
Fraser Noble FIIMS, Chairman of the IIMS Certifying Authority
Lee Warltier MIIMS
Jeremy Knight AssocIIMS and CEO of Clipper Ventures Plc
Capt Andrew Korek MIIMS and Regional Director IIMS Canada

Instagram Posts from the IIMS @iimsmarine